The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Search

Notices

Random Quote: Old fishermen never die, you just smell that way...
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-28-2013, 04:23 PM
  #1    
Admirals Club Captains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southeast, Fl
Posts: 377
Default Any Raymarine Network Nmea Interface Experts?

I am trying to connect an E127 to an existing NEMA 2000 network. I bought a Raymarine Nema 2000 gateway. It has a 5 way connector blue connectors on the end and 3 white(spur) center connectors. The cables that came with it only fit the white connectors. It also came with 2 blue terminators. I have power and a terminator on my existing backbone. Do I just use one terminator on the end of the raymarine 5 way connector like I would a normal Nema 2000 termination?

Here is a link to what I have.
http://www.thegpsstore.com/Raymarine...ay--P3366.aspx

I also have a digital radar cable from my radar. It fits right into the Ray HS connector on the back of the E127. Yet the Ray handbook shows me needing a crossover coupler then connecting to the E127. What is the deal?
__________________
dolphan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 06:46 PM
  #2    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 595
Default

you should only need one cable. the top one. and another nmea 2000 T. and just connect the screen to the nmea 2000T with the adapter cable. you can buy cable separate. no need for whole kit.



if the radar works then it's fine. if not might need cross over. the newer stuff auto detects now anyways I think.

wait your cable probably just has a rj 45 connector though right? not a twist locking one? that is what the coupler will add.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 07-28-2013, 07:12 PM
  #3    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Marietta, GA (boat is in slip at Orange Beahch, AL)
Posts: 226
Default

You might try the Raymarine tech site at:

http://raymarine.ning.com/

Have helped me on a couple of issues.

Good luck.
__________________
Sandy Slider
BUZZ ZINGA 1997 Bayliner 3788 Flybridge Sedan (2) 454CID Mercs
2000 Bayliner Rendezvous 2159 deckboat (Sold)
1991 19' Viking (NO, not that kind) Deckboat sterndrive. (Sold)
1965 Glasspar Avalon, 50HP Merc (Sold (donated))
sws01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 07:58 PM
  #4    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 871
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sws01 View Post
You might try the Raymarine tech site at:

http://raymarine.ning.com/

Have helped me on a couple of issues.

Good luck.
The only problem there is if you write something they don't like - they sensor your posts.... So I stopped using their support forum to report any Raymarine bug's.
kaz911 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 08:02 PM
  #5    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 871
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dolphan View Post
I am trying to connect an E127 to an existing NEMA 2000 network. I bought a Raymarine Nema 2000 gateway. It has a 5 way connector blue connectors on the end and 3 white(spur) center connectors. The cables that came with it only fit the white connectors. It also came with 2 blue terminators. I have power and a terminator on my existing backbone. Do I just use one terminator on the end of the raymarine 5 way connector like I would a normal Nema 2000 termination?

Here is a link to what I have.
http://www.thegpsstore.com/Raymarine...ay--P3366.aspx

I also have a digital radar cable from my radar. It fits right into the Ray HS connector on the back of the E127. Yet the Ray handbook shows me needing a crossover coupler then connecting to the E127. What is the deal?
The deal is that Raymarine "Ethernet" network is not auto sensing. So you need the cross over cable to connect like in the good old days on Ethernet hubs and Ethernet switches. Today most network adaptors are auto-sensing and can "cross over" the cables via "software". But if you get a Raymarine "Network Switch" you do not need the cross over cable. Then you connect the e127 and the radar into the switch and then no cross over adaptor is needed.
kaz911 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 01:15 AM
  #6    
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Default

With any NEMA2000 based system, you should ONLY have two terminators on the backbone, no more, no less. each terminator is 120 ohm so when connected in parellel, they provide you with the 60 ohms required for a stable network. (You can measure this resistance between Can H and CAN L when the system is powered down).

With regards to the Radar Cable, Raymarine have recently changed their connector from an RJ45 style to a "RayNet" connector. This means the new cables can connect directly into the new Network switches and directly into the new MFDs (no need for a crossover etc).
Seasoak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 05:04 AM
  #7    
Admirals Club Captains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southeast, Fl
Posts: 377
Default

ok so I have the new style radar cable. Now I just need to figure out if the 5 way connector works for me.
dolphan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 05:47 AM
  #8    
Admirals Club Captains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southeast, Fl
Posts: 377
Default

The 5 way connection works as well. You just put a terminator at one end of the 5 way connector. The other terminator is at the beginning of the existing Nmea 2000 backbone. Called Raymarine. Thanks for the help!
dolphan is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 



©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0