The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-21-2013, 09:45 PM   #1
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 14,582
Default Lowrance Link 8 and Garmin 741xs via NME2k: Updated--Another dead Lowrance?

I have both units installed and the MMSi number entered in the Link 8. They are both connected to a NMEA2k network. I can see the Link 8 in the NMEA2k list on the Garmin, and I can see the 741Xs as a GPS choice in the Link 8.

The problem is I can not see GPS coordinates on the Link 8. I can see AIS information on the Garmin from the Link 8, so I know they are "talking".

Any suggestions on what I can do to get them to trade GPS coordinates via NMEA 2k?

Last edited by Joe; 06-22-2013 at 11:04 AM.
Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 11:36 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 11,231
Default

You have to choose 741xs as GPS source in the Link-8 settings menu.
abbor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 08:06 AM   #3
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 14,582
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abbor View Post
You have to choose 741xs as GPS source in the Link-8 settings menu.
Yep..did that.
Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 10:57 AM   #4
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 14,582
Default

After working with every possible menu I could find in both the 741 and Link 8 and still unable to get the GPS to work on the Link 8, I decided to at least check to see if the radio worked. I immediately noticed doing a complete channel scan that I wasn't hearing any radio traffic. I tried the automated radio check on Ch 27. Nothing. Then I tried to call Sea Tow on ch 16. Nothing again.

Wondering if the radio was bad, I removed it and replaced it using the same power and antenna wires with an old Northstar 721 VHF I have sitting in my garage. Amazing! Radio check on 27 worked, Sea tow heard me on 16 and replied. I heard other radio traffic as well. This radio doesn't use NMEA2k, so I could not test that.

So I have a radio that doesn't receive NMEA2k GPS coordinates using a tested NMEA2k backbone, but it will transmit AIS traffic to the Garmin 741xs. Also the speaking portion of the VHF doesn't work. I can only assume that something internal to the radio is not working with transmit/receive VHF radio traffic as well as recieving NMEA2k information, but I can see the 741xs as a choice to use GPS in the radio menus.

When I received two bad Lowrance HDS head units, It was questioned what the odds were that could happen. After having what appears to be two bad Link 8 radios (this one literally right out the box last night), I'm beginning to think the odds are pretty low of receiving a properly functioning anything from Lowrance.

If any of the Lowrance aficionados here have any solutions or suggestions to this, I'm all ears.
Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 07:55 PM   #5
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Greater London UK
Posts: 1,055
Default

I have heard that there is a firmware bug in early Lowrance Link-8 that keeps them from getting GPS info from Garmin 720/740 - and it might extend to the 741 as well. I don't know if Garmin is running on the fringes of GPS position transmission - since my old MercMonitor had the same issue with the Garmin 720/740 (MercMonitor 4.01)
kaz911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 08:13 PM   #6
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 14,582
Default

Interesting. Garmin says they support sending PGN 129808, and Lowrance says they support receiving it. I suspect someone isn't telling the whole truth.

I finally got NMEA0183 to transmit GPS coordinates, but that sort of misses the point of buying the Link 8.
Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 05:39 AM   #7
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Greater London UK
Posts: 1,055
Default

I had my dad's link 8 work with 6 different GPS receivers - and ONLY the Garmin 720 transmitted PGNS did not work. Who is to blame - I don't know. But Garmin 19x worked fine with the Link-8.
kaz911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 07:34 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 11,231
Default

Which software version do you have?

1.0.54 may cause communication problems, 1.0.58 and 1.0.62 are fine.
abbor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 09:22 AM   #9
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 14,582
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abbor View Post
Which software version do you have?

1.0.54 may cause communication problems, 1.0.58 and 1.0.62 are fine.
I believe I saw 1.0.62, but I'd have to verify that.
Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 09:25 AM   #10
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 14,582
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaz911 View Post
I had my dad's link 8 work with 6 different GPS receivers - and ONLY the Garmin 720 transmitted PGNS did not work. Who is to blame - I don't know. But Garmin 19x worked fine with the Link-8.
I also saw a video that a Garmin 640 worked fine with the Link 8.

I'm not sure where the problem is. Perhaps something with the Garmin 7xx series?
Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 09:50 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 11,231
Default

Both models are just introduced so there is always a risk for some software bugs.
abbor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 09:00 PM   #12
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 465
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abbor View Post
Both models are just introduced so there is always a risk for some software bugs.
Software bugs in a device that is primarily a Safety Device - Good grief! Given the intended use of VHF Radios I don't believe in messing about. Lowrance, Garmin and sorry to say 'the new' Simrad are not on my shortlist.
gdfisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 09:49 PM   #13
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Greater London UK
Posts: 1,055
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe View Post
I also saw a video that a Garmin 640 worked fine with the Link 8.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KE7jJCZPeUo

I'm not sure where the problem is. Perhaps something with the Garmin 7xx series?
Garmin 640 does not have NMEA 2000. Only NMEA 0183. But yes I think the 7xx series have a slightly odd way of sending out GPS data since it has been multiple devices that had troubles receiving it for me. But Garmin might just follow the NMEA2000 standard "a pinch" tighter than the other devices. From what I can read some things are "loosely" interpreted.
kaz911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 05:34 AM   #14
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,322
Default

ve noticed that my Simrad NSS8 GPS Displays have changed when displaying N2k GPS data from my Garmin 547xs. Not sure what if anything things means or how it effects other Navico products. I have my Garmin 547xs connected via NMEA 0183 to my esisting SH GX2100 VHF/AIS radio and nothing has changed there from when I had it connected o my Garmin 740.

The new 400/500/700 series can use the Russian GPS System GLONASS that can be selected either on/off thru software functions. That is a difference from the previous models in these Garmin series. Not usre if this is the reason for some of the GPS data display anomalies I'm seeing below.

Neww Garmin GPS capabilites ......





Here's what I'm seeing .......

Previous display of N2k GPS data being received by my NSS8 and my Garmin 740.

Note ..... the display shows satellite strength bar readings of the data being received from each satellite from the Garmin 740.





Here's the display I seeing on my NSS8 from my Garmin 547

Note the absence of satellite strength bar readings ..... all the other info is the same with the exception of the SNR avg all: where there is no data





The NSS8 and the 547 display each others N2k devices as they did in my previous install


NSS8 740 install ....






NSS8 547 install


bluewaterpirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 05:59 AM   #15
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,322
Default

i've noticed my Simrad NSS8 GPS Displays have changed when displaying N2k GPS data from my Garmin 547xs. Not sure what if anything things means or how it effects other Navico products. I have my Garmin 547xs connected via NMEA 0183 to my esisting SH GX2100 VHF/AIS radio and nothing has changed there from when I had it connected o my Garmin 740.

The new 400/500/700 series can use the Russian GPS System GLONASS that can be selected either on/off thru software functions. That is a difference from the previous models in these Garmin series. Not usre if this is the reason for some of the GPS data display anomalies I'm seeing below.

New Garmin GPS capabilites ......





Here's what I'm seeing .......

Previous display of N2k GPS data being received by my NSS8 and my Garmin 740.

Note ..... the display shows satellite strength bar readings of the data being received from each satellite from the Garmin 740.





Here's the display I seeing on my NSS8 from my Garmin 547

Note the absence of satellite strength bar readings ..... all the other info is the same with the exception of the SNR avg all: where there is no data





The NSS8 and the 547 display each others N2k devices as they did in my previous install


NSS8 740 install ....






NSS8 547 install





The other difference I noticed on the Navigation page display is when I would have the 740 selected as my source for n2k GPS data it would show on the data bar itself ....





Now it doesn't ...... I was using the 547's N2k positional data in this screenshot






My Standhard Horizon GX 2100 VHF/AIS radio is wotking fine using the NMEA 0183 GPS data from my Garmin 547. No differences from the 740 to the 547.
bluewaterpirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 06:03 AM   #16
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Greater London UK
Posts: 1,055
Default

The Glonass receivers sends out VERY big sats in view PGN's - completely FULL to the limit of NMEA2000's data set - so the Simrad might not be expecting more than 18 sats in view at the same time (NMEA 2000 hard coded limit) - the 547xs is then supposed to boil it down to maximum 18 - but that might be where the "data" misunderstanding comes from.
kaz911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 06:06 AM   #17
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,322
Default

Even when I turn GLONASS off the NSS8 will not display the satellite signal strength.
bluewaterpirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 08:54 AM   #18
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 14,582
Default

I also tried turning off GLONASS to see if the Link 8 didn't understand it and was rejecting the coordinates because of that. It didn't make a difference.
Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 08:57 AM   #19
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 14,582
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaz911 View Post
Garmin 640 does not have NMEA 2000. Only NMEA 0183. But yes I think the 7xx series have a slightly odd way of sending out GPS data since it has been multiple devices that had troubles receiving it for me. But Garmin might just follow the NMEA2000 standard "a pinch" tighter than the other devices. From what I can read some things are "loosely" interpreted.

Very interesting-I guess it can't be getting data via NMEA2k!

Ben @ Panbo stated he is getting a Garmin 740xs and has a Link 8--and that he will try to connect them via NMEA2k and see if he has the same issues that I am seeing. I'm looking forward to that.
Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 09:10 AM   #20
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 14,582
Default

Tom--That is interesting. It almost seems the 547 is transmitting less data than the 740?
Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:53 PM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.