The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Search

Notices

Random Quote: An Education is what you get when you read the directions, Experience is what you get when you don't.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-19-2012, 04:57 PM
  #1    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Posts: 548
Default Lowrance 83/200 kHz or Lowrance 50/200 kHz Transducer?

I bought a Lowrance HDS 7 last week and it came with a 50/200 kHz transducer which I mounted today on the boat

I going to use the 7" screen for the chart plotter only

I also bought a Lowrance 5" Elite color fish finder, that came with a 83/200kHz transducer, which I'll use for the fish finder only

I mounted the 50/200kHz transducer on the boat,as we most of our fishing is off shore trolling

I called Lowrance today, and they said after I mounted the 50/200kHz on the boat, that the Elite 5" screen will not read the 50/ part, only the 200kHz.

So I have two options they said, use the 50/200kHz which will work only on 200kHz on the Elite 5x, or remove the 50/200 and install the 83/kHz transducer that
came with the Elite 5x

Lowrance said the 200kHz will not read past 200' and give me reliable depth

The 50/200kHz is twice as heavy as the 83/200kHz and looks like much better transducer

I'd hate to remove it, as the holes on the 83/200 will not work with the 50/200 and have to drill new holes etc

Should I just leave the 50/200kHz hooked up to the Elite 5x ? and just read 200kHz only?
fltekdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 05:49 PM
  #2    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 5,824
Default

You should keep the 50/200 kHz transducer and return or sell the Elite-5x and replace it with a HDS-5(x).

HDS is a much better fish finder in all respects. It has a more sensitive receiver such that it will work at much larger depths, it has better target separation and also supports 50 kHz.

To use the HDS transducer with Elite you need an adapter cable, the connectors are different, without the original transducer connected Elite-4x will not even get power.

You are right, 50/200 kHz is a much better transducer than 83/200 kHz, the sensitivity is better and the signal cones narrower.
abbor is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 09-20-2012, 09:34 AM
  #3    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 65
Default

Not sure about the 83/200, but we have had excellent reception with our 50/200 on our HDS-7. The 200 side works well to at least 900' picking up both fish and bottom structure (we have caught lots of barrels, snowy's and yellowedge on rocks to 900'. The 50 side works to 1637' while drifting for swords. We have had no problems holding bottom while at speeds up to 45mph as well.

Personally, I believe that the HDS-7 with the 50/200 transducer which can be had for right around $1K is far superior to anything else in that price range.
Flymost1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 10:38 AM
  #4    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Posts: 548
Default

Thank you, thats good to know. I'll stick with the 50/200kHz on the Elite 5x

Can I use one transducer to both units ? The Elite 5x and the HDS7 ?

I only go out to depths no more then 300' for trolling Dolphin etc
fltekdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 02:24 PM
  #5    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 5,824
Default

No you can not share the same transducer for Elite and HDS, you need two HDS units to do that.
abbor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 03:00 PM
  #6    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Posts: 548
Default

I should have asked these questions before buying everything. I bought the HDS7 for Chartplotter, and didn't want to spend allot for the fish finder, as we mostley troll in the ocean, and most of the fish were targeting are on the surface or right below it

So I bought the Elite 5x for $330 on Ebay new, as I ddint want to spend $500 for a better fishfinder as I dropped $700 into the HDS7

I just had to order a screen cover and connector for $70 shipped from Lowrance to use the 50/200

So now I'm at $410 for the Elite 5x, I should have just spent the extra $100 bucks for the HDS 5"

I would have liked to be able to see depth on both screens
fltekdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 02:13 AM
  #7    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Aston, Pa/Broadkill Beach De.
Posts: 815
Default

Why don't you just get an HDS5X with no transducer and network it tot he HDS7?

That is exactly the set up I use and it works very well for me.

I use the HDS7 for chart display and the 5X for either FF display or engine info when running.

The HDS is a very good FF, plus you can add Structure Scan later if you want to.
__________________


1996 Regal LeisureCat 26
Mariner 225
2011 Owens & Sons Slide On trailer w/electric-hydraulic disc brakes
n3up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 03:43 PM
  #8    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Posts: 548
Default

I know, I all ready mounted everything in the consoul

I'm thinking of pulling it out and replacing it with the HDS5X

I may try to sell first, then buy
Attached Images
  
fltekdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 07:12 PM
  #9    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Aston, Pa/Broadkill Beach De.
Posts: 815
Default

Here's my setup.



My transducer connects to the HDS7 and I share sonar data via network.
You need ethernet to share sonar data.
If you also connect N2K network, you can mark objects on the 5X and it will create a waypoint on the HDS7.
I'm saving up for Structure Scan now....
__________________


1996 Regal LeisureCat 26
Mariner 225
2011 Owens & Sons Slide On trailer w/electric-hydraulic disc brakes
n3up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 07:17 PM
  #10    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Posts: 548
Default

Thank you , I may need your help on what to order

I just put the Elite 5x up for sale, once I sell it, I'll order the HDS5x :

http://www.thehulltruth.com/parts-fo...ml#post4950601
fltekdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 07:30 PM
  #11    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Aston, Pa/Broadkill Beach De.
Posts: 815
Default

Glad to help.

Do you have an N2K network set up already?

You will need an ethernet cable, and if you already have N2K network, a T and a drop cable.
If you don't already have N2K network, you'll need a starter kit and maybe a couple of other pieces.
I have to look up what came in the starter kit....
__________________


1996 Regal LeisureCat 26
Mariner 225
2011 Owens & Sons Slide On trailer w/electric-hydraulic disc brakes
n3up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 08:54 PM
  #12    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Posts: 548
Default

No, I just bought the HDS7 last week. I don;t have it networked. Only thing I did was run the NMEA wires to my VHF for the DSC button
fltekdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 12:58 AM
  #13    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Marbella, South, Spain
Posts: 135
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by n3up View Post
Why don't you just get an HDS5X with no transducer and network it tot he HDS7?

That is exactly the set up I use and it works very well for me.

I use the HDS7 for chart display and the 5X for either FF display or engine info when running.

The HDS is a very good FF, plus you can add Structure Scan later if you want to.
If you add a HDS5x to the system you'll only be able to use it as fishfinder, but if you add an HDS5m instead you will be able to use it as both, fishfinder and navigation, as you already have a sonar unit connected by ethernet.

Sorry about my English, I try to do my best
jecreva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 07:04 AM
  #14    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Aston, Pa/Broadkill Beach De.
Posts: 815
Default

Looks like you're going to need an ethernet cable, an N2K starter kit, which has the power cable, 2 T's, a 2ft drop cable, a 15ft cable and terminators.

If your motor is N2K capable, I would get the adaptor cable for your motor so you can interface with the MFD's. You might also need an EP85 storage module so you can save fuel use data.

BOE is having a sale starting Oct1, so I would check them out for the stuff you need.
You could also give them a call and talk to them about the stuff you's need to hook everything up.
That's what I did. I ended up with an extra N2K cable I didn't need and they were easy to deal with for the return.

The network stuff sounds complicated, but it's really pretty easy. All pretty much plug & Play.

The 5X will be just fine for a second screen, unless you will want to have your chart on the small screen.
Charts won't share, so you'd have to have 2 chartplotters if that's what yu want to do.

I got my 5X from www.getfeetwet.com for around $320 if I remember right.
I'm running Gen1 HDS units. You can mix Gen1 and Gen2.
__________________


1996 Regal LeisureCat 26
Mariner 225
2011 Owens & Sons Slide On trailer w/electric-hydraulic disc brakes
n3up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 06:19 PM
  #15    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Posts: 548
Default

Ok, the Elite 5x sold !

So I'm going to remove it tomorrow

The ethernet cable, an N2K starter kit look like together are around $100?

Also will the HDS5x read 50/200kHz, as remember I'm using the 50/200kHz from the HDS7

Good point on the HDS5m, its always good to have a back up charter

I'll look into both now that the Eleite 5x sold
fltekdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 06:51 PM
  #16    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Posts: 548
Default

I can get a good deal right now on a new HDS5 , chartplotter, fishfinder , would that network to the HDS7 ?

Whats the difference between their HDS5 , HDS5m, and HDS5x ?
fltekdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 07:25 PM
  #17    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Posts: 548
Default

Thank you. I just bought the HDS5 with Nautic Insite Maps, so I'll have a back up chartplotter, and it uses the 50/200kHz transducer also

I'm going to add the weather to it also : http://www.siriusxm.com/marineweather

Thanks for everyone's help It's greatley apprecaited

I'll have a extra 50/200kHz transducer now, so I'll sell it, and use the money for the networking stuff
fltekdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 02:00 PM
  #18    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Posts: 548
Default

Update


New Lowrance HDS5 networked together with the HDS7, using the 50/200kHz transducer

Next I'm ordering the fuel sensor

I love it!

I also have a back up chart plotter now !
Attached Images
  
fltekdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 02:09 PM
  #19    
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: La Porte and Houston TX
Posts: 1
Default VHF Interferece?

Great photo; good looking!

Question: Do the Lowrance units interfere with your VHF radio reception?
bill77056 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 02:31 PM
  #20    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Posts: 548
Default

Thanks ! Not at all, last weekend we were out in the ocean, I was talking to people 12-15 miles away crystal clear. I could talk to the other boats, and my friends that were out their couldn't hear who we were talking back & forth with
fltekdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 



©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0