The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Search

Notices

Random Quote: I covered my eyes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-26-2012, 09:04 AM
  #1    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 510
Default LSS-1 problem

Hi, I installed an HDS8 with structure scan and a sirrius weather antenna about 6 weeks ago, on my first test run the entire unit shut down twice and restarted. I took the boat to the keys for a week, didn't get to fish much because of the wind but had no issues with anything the times I did get to go out. Went out locally today and was using structure scan to try and find some rockpiles, just found my first one and I start getting intermittant NO SOURCE errors then after a few minutes it became permenant.. I'm back home and just tried to bring up the weather overlay and get a message NO MODULE DETECTED so it looks like it is the module itself not the transducer.

I'm about to start contacting Lowrance and hopefully they will agree and let me send in the module only for exchange as ripping out the transducer will be a pain.

I did think of going to buy a spare ethernet cable to run from the module to the HDS to see if I could get lucky with a simple fix.

Any thought from anyone before I start the customer service circus ??????. Thanks.
bonefish10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 09:35 AM
  #2    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 510
Default

Sadly it looks like the module is yet another bad one. Tried switching the ports around made no difference. On the origional ports the problem is back to being intermittant, some times weather and structure work sometimes one or the other.
bonefish10 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 04-26-2012, 12:39 PM
  #3    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: SouthBay SF
Posts: 706
Default

I have the same issue. Need to contact Lowrance as well.

Mine is close to a year old.

Sometimes a power cycle will bring it back. Sometimes not.

Arghh.
The Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 06:22 PM
  #4    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Essex Fells/LBI NJ
Posts: 136
Default

My LSS-1 stopped working after two weeks. Troubleshooted with Lowrance yesterday. They said it's either a bad power cable to the LSS or a bad Ethernet cable. Lowrance will send me a power cable and BOE Marine is over nighting me the Ethernet cable. I will post once I test over the weekend.
czopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 11:59 PM
  #5    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 510
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by czopper View Post
My LSS-1 stopped working after two weeks. Troubleshooted with Lowrance yesterday. They said it's either a bad power cable to the LSS or a bad Ethernet cable. Lowrance will send me a power cable and BOE Marine is over nighting me the Ethernet cable. I will post once I test over the weekend.
I'm going to call them after work today. hopefully mine will just be a cable issue too as there have been some threads here and elsewhere about replacement lss-1's not being available.
bonefish10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 01:58 AM
  #6    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Pt. Pleasent NJ.
Posts: 494
Default

be carefull with those enet wires you do not want to put hard bends in them, 4 inch radius min. is what they say.
TerryS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 06:48 AM
  #7    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Clayton/Wanchese, NC
Posts: 1,405
Default

Is your HDS8 a Gen1 or Gen2? The Gen2 units had an issue with re-booting but there is a firmware update that fixes the problem. I have first hand knowledge of this because my unit was doing it before I updated it! Hopefully it will be easy to solve.
__________________
2001 Luhrs 340 Tournament Convertible
2012 Key West 211CC w/Suzuki DF250
budbrande is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 01:37 PM
  #8    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 510
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by budbrande View Post
Is your HDS8 a Gen1 or Gen2? The Gen2 units had an issue with re-booting but there is a firmware update that fixes the problem. I have first hand knowledge of this because my unit was doing it before I updated it! Hopefully it will be easy to solve.
Thanks, I will have to look into that. Mine is a gen 2 only 6 weeks old but who knows how long it was in stock for. Of course now I am home the structurescan and weather seem to be working fine everytime I turn it on however much I jiggle the wires fuses etc so it's kind of hard to call Lowrance support. Sods law says as soon as I hit the water again it will start acting up.
bonefish10 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 



©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0