The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Search

Notices

Random Quote: What's a quote?
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-30-2011, 05:28 PM
  #1    
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 34
Default HDS 5 question

I cannot figure out how to enter Long and Lat to mark a location. I got the numbers yesterday in my buddies boat and I want to enter them in my Lowrance HDS 5 chart plotter but can't figure out how to do it. The manual talks about it but doesn't state how it is done. I know how to use the curser and the currant location but I cannot figure how to project one. Any help would be appreciated because I'm heading out tomorrow morning in my boat to catch some more. Thanks
Innocent Bystander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 07:52 PM
  #2    
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 43
Default

you dont even have to punch in the numbers, when the unit comes on go to the chart screen. hit enter the cross will come on the screen, use the arrows north south east or west till your numbers show then hit save waypoint. easy do it at the dock while the motors warming up. then hit exit so the gps goes to you current location.
icyb is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 12-30-2011, 08:27 PM
  #3    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Upper NC
Posts: 1,580
Default

This may help.........

http://www.bassfisher1.zoomshare.com...n_HDS_Unit.pdf
__________________
2007 2100 Polar Dual Console
2006 Yamaha F200TXR
2002 Silverado Z71
polarred21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 09:01 PM
  #4    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Aston, Pa/Broadkill Beach De.
Posts: 810
Default

So, when you change the numbers in the co-ordinates box, that is where the waypoint is placed when you save?

I have a list of lat/lon numbers for artificial reef sites I want to put into my new HDS 7.....
__________________


1996 Regal LeisureCat 26
Mariner 225
2011 Owens & Sons Slide On trailer w/electric-hydraulic disc brakes
n3up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 05:36 PM
  #5    
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by n3up View Post
So, when you change the numbers in the co-ordinates box, that is where the waypoint is placed when you save?

I have a list of lat/lon numbers for artificial reef sites I want to put into my new HDS 7.....
thats it i think its easier then punching in all those numbers, i watch tv and scroll around the map with the cursor.
icyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 08:36 PM
  #6    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Upper NC
Posts: 1,580
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by n3up View Post
So, when you change the numbers in the co-ordinates box, that is where the waypoint is placed when you save?

I have a list of lat/lon numbers for artificial reef sites I want to put into my new HDS 7.....
Yes that is correct.

Bassfisher1 has compiled many helpful HDS instructions here:
http://www.bassfisher1.zoomshare.com/

He is a member here as well as the BBC boards. You can find a lot of helpful info there as well on the Lowrance forum.
__________________
2007 2100 Polar Dual Console
2006 Yamaha F200TXR
2002 Silverado Z71
polarred21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 11:58 PM
  #7    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Aston, Pa/Broadkill Beach De.
Posts: 810
Default

Is there any way to compile a waypoint list on your computer and load it from a memory card?
That might be a little easier if you have a large list.....
__________________


1996 Regal LeisureCat 26
Mariner 225
2011 Owens & Sons Slide On trailer w/electric-hydraulic disc brakes
n3up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 07:19 AM
  #8    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: haddam, ct
Posts: 594
Default

Entering numbers is easy. From the chart screen touch goto. I think there will be an option to enter coordinates. Its pretty simple if you have the soft keys below the screen like on an HDS 10 - I guess the HDS5 doesn't have that. Look for goto in the menu from the chart screen.
slapshotjh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 08:50 AM
  #9    
nat
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: upthecreek
Posts: 4,134
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by n3up View Post
Is there any way to compile a waypoint list on your computer and load it from a memory card?
That might be a little easier if you have a large list.....
I would also like to know if lowrance makes a software program that you load on a PC to manage waypoints. for the HDS 7. I have a new HDS 7 coming and know nothing about the operation and functions

I had a garmin on my last boat and managing the waypoints on a PC was a fast and easy at the comfort of your desk. then you transfer them to the SD card and then upload them to the unit via the sd card....this was nice because loading them one at a time on the unit took forever.
nat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 10:36 AM
  #10    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Upper NC
Posts: 1,580
Default

They do make software such as Navplanner2 which is available on the Lowrance website and places like BOE marine. I don't own any but if I needed it this would be my choice.
__________________
2007 2100 Polar Dual Console
2006 Yamaha F200TXR
2002 Silverado Z71
polarred21 is online now   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 



©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0