The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Search

Notices

Random Quote: This place needs an enema!
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-31-2004, 07:54 AM
  #1    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Newport News VA
Posts: 641
Default Furuno NMEA cable splitter

OK, here's the problem. I have a Furuno 1850 flush mounted on the helm. It is interfaced with a Furuno radar which is in the electronics box. I also have an ICOM VHF with DSC in the electronics box. Does Funo make a splitter that I can attach on the radar end so I also have an NMEA output to run into the VHF so I can have the DSC available?
jdfnav69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2004, 08:00 AM
  #2    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston,Tx,U.S.A
Posts: 9,518
Default RE: Furuno NMEA cable splitter

all you need is this cable it has a connector to hook right in your 1850
and a open end to connect your NMEA wires on the bac of your radio

000-117-603


http://www.furuno.com/Furuno/Rooms/D....entity.Entity[OID[5FCCEF9864392842B34B16F9C62C07D8]]&Product=com.webridge.entity.Entity[OID[E1727166DBF33240BFEC66E395B5A210]]&ProductCategory=com.webridge.entity.Entity[OID[574784B72D00ED48B6496621264D8FC8]]&ContainerTemplate=com.webridge.entity.Entity[OID[4BE7FF5782D764499C2D3A1D15C2C8C6]]
John
__________________
Finally Boatless...

Happiest day of the week...
jtburf is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 12-31-2004, 08:09 AM
  #3    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Newport News VA
Posts: 641
Default RE: Furuno NMEA cable splitter

OK JT, where did you come up with that number? I tried searching Furuno's website but without the part number that I wanted I couldn't get anywhere. I was hoping to attack the problem from the radar side so I didn't have to fish another wire through the hard top.

Edit: I ran that on Furuno's site and came up blank. Who's number is that?
jdfnav69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2004, 08:18 AM
  #4    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston,Tx,U.S.A
Posts: 9,518
Default RE: Furuno NMEA cable splitter

1. http://www.furuno.com/
2.http://www.furuno.com/furuno/Rooms/D....entity.Entity[OID[B3EDD9BA52958241AC8C7510C25D3F24]]
3. sice you thinking Radar but did not list which one you find your radar click the assc page then it will show
all the add ons !!!


John
__________________
Finally Boatless...

Happiest day of the week...
jtburf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2004, 08:29 AM
  #5    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Newport News VA
Posts: 641
Default RE: Furuno NMEA cable splitter

Ok. Let me try again here. The 1850 already has the NMEA outlet cable hooked up to it and is run to a Furuno 1700 series* radar. I don't have an open port on the chart plotter to plug into. That's why I need to split it somehow. I could use a terminal block if all else fails. I was just hoping maybe Furuno had a premade cable that takes one female and comes out to two males or a male and an bare wire end.
__________________


2001 Carolina Classic 315 Yanmar
jdfnav69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2004, 08:40 AM
  #6    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston,Tx,U.S.A
Posts: 9,518
Default RE: Furuno NMEA cable splitter

Then go to Radio shack and buy a junction box with a strip split your NMEA connection to both units and be done ... MUCH cheaper

or this cable plugs in your radar if you have the 1715
000-144-418 NMEA Cable, 1 x 7 Pin Connector, 5 Meters

John
__________________
Finally Boatless...

Happiest day of the week...
jtburf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2004, 07:01 PM
  #7    
MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 68
Default RE: Furuno NMEA cable splitter

If you are not using the DGPS port, you can also use this port to output NEMA data via the RS-232 pins. If this port is in use then as the others have stated you need to build a splice into your existing cable. Furuno does not make a cable splitter.

The way you do this is:

1 - Purchase a 6 or more conductor screw terminal block which can be purchased at radio shack or and marine supply store.

2 Mount the terminal in a location central to all the electronics you want to send the 1850 NEMA data to .

3 Cut the cable that goes from your 1850 NEMA port to your radar in half and expose the wires on each side of the cable. Re-connect each side of the cut cable one to one at the terminal block. See following diagram

Connector------Terminal --- Connector to Radar

1850 pin 1 -----|-O-O-|----- Radar pin 1 + Furuno TDA to ICOM NEMAIN(+)
1850 pin 2 -----|-O-O-|----- Radar pin 2 + Furuno TDB to ICOM NEMAIN(-)
1850 pin 3 -----|-O-O-|----- Radar pin 3
1850 pin 4 -----|-O-O-|----- Radar pin 4
1850 pin 5 -----|-O-O-|----- Radar pin 5
1850 pin 6 -----|-O-O-|----- Radar pin 6

4 Attach in parallel to the terminal block your ICOM NEMA inputs. The ICOM NEMAIN(+) should go to the Furuno pin 1 (TDA signal) and the ICOM NENAIN(-) should go to FURUNO pin 2 (TDB signal).

5 Make sure your NEMA data port is outputting the RMC sentence. Your ICOM should display the Lat. Long and Time information.

Email me with any questions.

Happy New Year
Steven
bakalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2004, 07:10 PM
  #8    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Newport News VA
Posts: 641
Default RE: Furuno NMEA cable splitter

Thanks Steve. That's what I was afraid I would have to do. Was just hoping for something a little neater, like a cable. I'll just add this to the to do list for my new toy for the coming week.
__________________


2001 Carolina Classic 315 Yanmar
jdfnav69 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Colors on cable for Furuno 1715 NMEA input thataway Marine Electronics Forum 5 09-08-2006 03:11 PM
Which NMEA cable, Furuno 1715 to Garmin 2010C? jpbarnlight Marine Electronics Forum 2 04-04-2006 09:37 PM
Furuno 582 NMEA cable connection passingas Marine Electronics Forum 7 01-07-2006 02:43 AM
Can I make my own NMEA Cable for my Furuno 1622 PeteF Marine Electronics Forum 8 03-17-2003 01:18 PM

 



©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0