The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Search

Notices

Random Quote: Ain't no such thing as a small, simple job!!!
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-12-2011, 06:55 AM
  #1    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Forked River, New Jersey
Posts: 266
Default Yamaha Command Link Interface to Garmin

I would like to interface my Garmin 7212 and my Yamaha Command Link (2011 twin 250s) so I can see the engine guages on my Garmin 7212. After reading on this site, I thought all I needed was a "single" wire from my Yamaha guages to my Garmin network, but my electronics tech says Yamaha does not output data in any standard marine electronics industry networking format; to link the Garmin to the Yamaha gauges requires about $600 for parts & labor to install Yamaha's proprietary gateway. I'd appreciate if someone could clear this up for me in "electronics for dummies" terms. Thanks.
__________________
Mike
2011 Regulator 26fs /w twin Yamaha 250s
2003 Hydra Sports 2800wa /w twin Yamaha 225s
1995 Mirror Craft 1615 /w 9.9 Evinrude
Five Seas
njmikec01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 07:27 AM
  #2    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 231
Default

Mike, not sure if it is a different process with twins, but I just hooked up my Garmin 740 and 2006 F250 yamaha quite easily.

I purchased a lowrance NMEA 2000 to yamaha cable, plugged it in under the cowling and ran it to a basic NMEA 2000 backbone that is hooked to the 740. That was it and I get all the yamaha info on my Garmin. I do not have command link gauges.

All I had to buy was the Lowrance Yamaha to NMEA 2000 cable and a NMEA 2000 network starter kit.
__________________

23 Regulator
Youtube
Vimeo
Basspond is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 06-12-2011, 07:52 AM
  #3    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 12,575
Default

There is no such thing as a 2011 Yamaha outboard motor.

What is the model of the motors that you have?

The problem with reading stuff on this site is that it is not always correct. Even my own stuff from time to time.

You say that you have two motors. How is a "single" wire going to convey data from two motors to one chart plotter?
jethro1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 03:04 PM
  #4    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Forked River, New Jersey
Posts: 266
Default

Basspond, thanks for the reply. I had a follow-up discussion with my installer got my answer. The new Yamaha 250's (XCAs) are not NMEA 2000 compliant. Yamaha went to a proprietary format when they went with the new command link guages a year or so back.

Jetro1, I was interested in connecting from my "single" Command Link guage, not directly from the two engines.
__________________
Mike
2011 Regulator 26fs /w twin Yamaha 250s
2003 Hydra Sports 2800wa /w twin Yamaha 225s
1995 Mirror Craft 1615 /w 9.9 Evinrude
Five Seas
njmikec01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 05:02 PM
  #5    
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: PNW
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by njmikec01 View Post
Basspond, thanks for the reply. I had a follow-up discussion with my installer got my answer. The new Yamaha 250's (XCAs) are not NMEA 2000 compliant. Yamaha went to a proprietary format when they went with the new command link guages a year or so back.

Jetro1, I was interested in connecting from my "single" Command Link guage, not directly from the two engines.
I was able to interface Garmin 7012 with twin yamaha 2010 F115 motors. SIM Yamaha (site supporter) had what I needed. A pair of 4 pin pig tail harnesses (one from each engine to a command link hub with resistor caps and it's own power cable, a yamaha gateway from the hub to your NMEA 2000 network via a drop cable. I've read others have had success without the gateway, it was just the way I decided to do it. My boat does not have command link gauges. To get the trim gauges to be functional on the 7012 display, I had to connect the pink wire in the forward / right area of each motor, it was disconnected from the factory on my motors, the bullet connectors are already there you just simply plug them together and it feeds via the NMEA connection. Good luck.
__________________

24' North River Seahawk OS
Twin F115 Yammis
"WHITE RUSSIAN"
WHITE RUSSIAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 07:01 AM
  #6    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Monmouth County, NJ / Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,012
Default

Get yourself a maretron MARE-003 adapter. Plugs into the existing Yamaha Command link backbone and then to the Garmin NMEA T adapter.
Attached Images
 
joemat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 08:43 AM
  #7    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location:
Posts: 327
Default

if you have the command link you can use the cable in the pic above ,if you have the command link plus , one gauge does all, you have to have the gate way
woolyt2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 07:40 PM
  #8    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Forked River, New Jersey
Posts: 266
Default

Thanks, guys. I have command link plus.
__________________
Mike
2011 Regulator 26fs /w twin Yamaha 250s
2003 Hydra Sports 2800wa /w twin Yamaha 225s
1995 Mirror Craft 1615 /w 9.9 Evinrude
Five Seas
njmikec01 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 



©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0