The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Search

Notices

Random Quote: First - Walk a mile in my shoes! Then you have a free pair of shoes and a 1 mile head start! ;o)
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-04-2002, 05:12 PM
  #1    
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Wes Sacramento, Ca Edgew
Posts: 41
Default Interfacing Furuno 582,1850 gps, and SimranAP12

I recently purchased a Furuno FCV-582L, Furuno GP-1850 gps, and a Simrad AP12 autopilot. On the back of the Furuno FF and gps there is an NMEA port. I was wondering if there is something like a terminal that I could buy that would connect all of these units together with cables. I couldn't find anything on the Furuno website.

Help is greatly appreciated.

Terry
THE HAT is offline  
Old 06-05-2002, 02:04 PM
  #2    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Interfacing Furuno 582,1850 gps, and SimranAP12

Furuno is terrible about this stuff and that's a shame.

Call Consumer Marine Electronics and get the cables you need. They are going to cost you about $35 each. one for the GPS and one for the fishfinder. For the auto pilot you can use any two pieces of wire you have or some 14/2 or similar sized wire (multi strand, not solid).

Once you get them between the fish finder and GPS connect input to output and output to input with positve to positive and negative to negative. Attach your output wires from the GPS to your other two wires and run them to the brain on the autp pilot, which has a very straight forward attachment system (loosen two screws, stick the wires in the slots, tighten the screws). Witht eh Simrad it is very much to your advantage to tin the wire ends before you try to stick them in the holes - aslo you're going to need a very small straight blade screwdriver to do this.

Its all pretty straight forward really. Once you have the cables in hand shoot me an E-Mail and I'll give you specific wire colors to connect to each other.

Thom

"I command thee, O fish of the ocean, rise to my bait"
Thom is offline  
 
Old 06-09-2002, 05:56 AM
  #3    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ft Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 312
Default Interfacing Furuno 582,1850 gps, and SimranAP12

Great selection of electronics! Not all that familiar with the AP12, but if it uses the same brainbox as the AP11, you can just put all your nema cables into the brainbox port, no need to splice cables, the AP will ignore anything it doesn't need like depth and radar data. The 582 has a great nav screen for go-to waypoint, easy to monitor course while keeping your chart on the 1850.
keysdisease is offline  
Old 06-09-2002, 08:29 PM
  #4    
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Wes Sacramento, Ca Edgew
Posts: 41
Default Interfacing Furuno 582,1850 gps, and SimranAP12

Thanks for the help! I would really like to find the cables to interface all of these units without having to splice anything. I just ordered the NMEA cable for the FF and GPS. The cables are the same part#. The guy at Consumers Marine Electronics wasn't really knowledgeable about this stuff. He had no idea if these cables would hook up to the Simrad unit. I guess what I am trying to find out is, is there a "Y" or "W" connection, in a cable form, that will interface all of these components?
THE HAT is offline  
Old 06-09-2002, 11:03 PM
  #5    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Bruno, CA , USA
Posts: 167
Default Interfacing Furuno 582,1850 gps, and SimranAP12

Terry,

I just interfaced my VHF and Furuno Radar to my Furuno GP-1850F. If I remember correctly, there is only 1 NEMA interface on the GP1850 so if you hook that up to your 582FF using a direct cable, there will be no other port to hook up anything else.

I think you must make a splice. The GP1850 already comes with 1 NEMA cable. Buy one more Furuno NEMA cable for the 582L and you should be all ready (assuming the Simrad came with NEMA cable).

Run all 3 NEMA cables to one location and you can make all your connections at one place.
ivansfo is offline  
Old 06-10-2002, 05:04 AM
  #6    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Interfacing Furuno 582,1850 gps, and SimranAP12

You must do the splice. The Simrad does not come with any sort of cable. It has two terminals to which two wires will be attached. One of the wires will connect to the data out + from the GPS and the other will attach to its data out - cable. There is no "Y" cable either. Don't worry about it though, just get the cables and do the hookup, its very easy to do. If the 1850 comes with the needed cable all the better, if not buy one for it. The 582 will not come with the cable, so buy one for it. They may be the same cable, no reason why they wouldn't be, and the hookup is almost shockingly simple. For the furuno you can use any two wires, or any duplex wire, you have. This is an embarassing revelation, for my AP-12 I'm using a section of extension cord I had laying around the house. It works just fine and a length of speaker wire that you can buy by the foot at Radio Shack would work just as well. Once again, get the cables first and then I'll post the wire colors for the hookup for you. This hookup is childsplay, trust me [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif[/img]

Thom

Thom

"I command thee, O fish of the ocean, rise to my bait"
Thom is offline  
Old 06-10-2002, 07:06 AM
  #7    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Interfacing Furuno 582,1850 gps, and SimranAP12

Sorry, I said for the Furuno you only need a duplex wire - what I meant to say was that for the Simrad you only need the duplex wire (or two separate wires).

Thom

"I command thee, O fish of the ocean, rise to my bait"
Thom is offline  
Old 06-10-2002, 03:30 PM
  #8    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Interfacing Furuno 582,1850 gps, and SimranAP12

Might as well do this the easy way. The one I show in gray is supposed to be the white wire.



"I command thee, O fish of the ocean, rise to my bait"
Thom is offline  
Old 06-11-2002, 07:10 AM
  #9    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 14,379
Default Interfacing Furuno 582,1850 gps, and SimranAP12

How'd you get the wires in your diagram to come out in colors. [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_confused.gif[/img]
First Light is offline  
Old 06-11-2002, 08:49 AM
  #10    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Interfacing Furuno 582,1850 gps, and SimranAP12

I just drew it as a bit-map file in Paint and then saved it to some web space I have. From there it was just a matter of including it in the post just as if it was a photograph.

Thom

"I command thee, O fish of the ocean, rise to my bait"
Thom is offline  
Old 06-11-2002, 11:45 AM
  #11    
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location:
Posts: 3
Default Interfacing Furuno 582,1850 gps, and SimranAP12

Hello Thom

Was looking through some posts and located this one regarding the AP12 autopilot. Just by coincidence I installed the AP12 autopilot over the weekend in my Pro-line. I did not have time to sea trial/calibrate it as of yet but plan on doing it this coming weekend when I also will connect the autopilot to my Furuno 1850. I also have the Furuno radar that is connected to the GPS via the Furuno cross over cable.
I have the two wires from the autopilot a red & blue wire going up to the GPS units but have not spliced into it as of yet. I believe the cable that connects the GPS to the radar is a multi strand cable. I have not cut the cable open and am not sure what the colors of those wires might be. I was wondering if there is an easy way to determine which wires of the autopilot’s should be connected to which wires of the GPS. Maybe I'm making this more complicated than it is??
Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks
John
John Holzberger is offline  
Old 06-11-2002, 01:58 PM
  #12    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Interfacing Furuno 582,1850 gps, and SimranAP12

John,

if the cable you already have that is connecting the Furuno GPS to the Furuno radar is a factory made one that has factory-installed plugs one each end then I have no idea what color wires might be found inside of it so I could not tell you with any certainty which wires to splice into.

On the Auto Pilot end if you take the three screws out of the cover that is on the magic black box you will find the terminals where the input for your flux gate compass, rudder feedback unit, control head, and pump hook up. Also in that line of terminals you will find your NMEA input connections. One will be marked positive and one negative. Its just a matter of finding the data out positive from the GPs and splicing into it and running that wire to the positive terminal on the black box and then finding out which wire from the GPS is the data out negative and splicing into it and connecting your spliced-in wire to the data in negative terminal in the black box.

With the Furuno calbes that have a plug on one end and bare wires on the other there are five wires in the cable. The first wire is simply a braded ground wire that you may or may not choose to connect to an earth ground. This wire should not be connected to the battery's negative termina though. Then there will be four colored wires. There are a yellow, green, white, and a black wire. The yellow is data in positve. the green in data in negative. The white is the data out positive. The black is the data out negative.

So, if what you actually have is two of those cables that someone has done the connections on what you will want to tie into is the Black and White pair with the black being connected to the data in negative on the auto pilot and the white being tied into the data in postive wire.

Make sense?

Thom

"I command thee, O fish of the ocean, rise to my bait"
Thom is offline  
Old 06-11-2002, 02:47 PM
  #13    
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location:
Posts: 3
Default Interfacing Furuno 582,1850 gps, and SimranAP12

Thanks Thom

Will give it a shot.....

John
John Holzberger is offline  
Old 06-11-2002, 04:17 PM
  #14    
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Wes Sacramento, Ca Edgew
Posts: 41
Default Interfacing Furuno 582,1850 gps, and SimranAP12

Thanks Thom,

After talking to the Furuno tech support tech everything you said fell into place. I have not interfaced everything yet but now I understand what you were saying. I'll give it a shot this weekend.
THE HAT is offline  
Old 06-18-2002, 11:06 AM
  #15    
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location:
Posts: 3
Default Interfacing Furuno 582,1850 gps, and SimranAP12

Hello Thom

Connected the autopilot to the GPS and everything seemed to be working properly.
The red and blue wires from the autopilot connected to the white and black wires of the GPS..
Thanks again for your help

John
John Holzberger is offline  
 
 
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furuno 582 and Furuno 1621 for sale. contagiousfishing Fishing & Miscellaneous Items -- COMMERCIAL sellers only 3 09-16-2008 08:02 PM
interfacing Raymarine to Furuno hammertime2 Marine Electronics Forum 1 04-16-2008 05:09 AM
Furuno 1850 GPS Antenna Hookup peb3 Marine Electronics Forum 4 09-18-2007 08:31 PM
Interfacing a Furuno 1623 w/ Furuno GP30 SteveZ Marine Electronics Forum 4 03-13-2006 03:31 PM
Interfacing a Garmin GPS to Furuno FF...Help needed Rodge Marine Electronics Forum 7 06-16-2005 07:05 AM

 



©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0