The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > The Boating Forum
Search

Notices

Random Quote: Our Drinking Team has a fishing problem!
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-31-2006, 11:35 AM
  #1    
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 58
Default replacing throttle/shift cable

I need to replace these cables. Should I stay with the manufactures cable or get someone else's ? Does it make a difference? These are for a Yamaha.
jdbic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 12:06 PM
  #2    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location:
Posts: 542
Default Re: replacing throttle/shift cable

I just replaced mine (had a shop do them) last month.

They were installed in 2002. They had rusted all the way down to the cable and that too was corroded. This was on all 4 cables (twin engines). I almost always rinse the area down with fresh water, but it appears that did not do the job.

I had the shop install cables that were teflon on the inside. It was pretty neat when they showed me a 30 foot coil and gently pushed and pulled the cable. It slid with great ease.

Looking forward to running them soon!


sea_slueth is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 01-31-2006, 12:30 PM
  #3    
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location:
Posts: 1,468
Default Re: replacing throttle/shift cable

Take a look at Teleflex Extremes
__________________
Tom Pass
Sea Blues II
'03 Key West 23WA
Honda 225
Little River, SC/Hamilton, NJ
Proud Parent of a Marine

tompass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 12:57 PM
  #4    
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 58
Default Re: replacing throttle/shift cable

sea_slueth, so the old cables didn't have a jacket under the metal part of the cable? Mine have rusted through ,but there is a plastic jacket /sleeve inside that is now exposed.
I'll have to look into those teleflex extremes, tompass
How are they in price compared to the stock Yamaha? Mine are on a 1990 225hp.
jdbic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 01:46 PM
  #5    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location:
Posts: 542
Default Re: replacing throttle/shift cable

I believe I got the teleflex extremes, I'll have to look. They were not cheap.
Yeah, it was down to the sleeve and I just did not trust running to the Canyons with corrosion the cables of both engines.

If I recall, one of the sleeves had some cable exposed. I can't be positive. I first noticed it in early december and brought it to the shop during a honda recall.

sea_slueth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 01:50 PM
  #6    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 352
Default Re: replacing throttle/shift cable

Sea_slueth: Can you give us an idea of total cost? I may need to do the same on my twin Yamaha 225 4 strokes. Thanks very much.
Class Act is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 01:51 PM
  #7    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Pensacola, Fl.
Posts: 7,326
Default Re: replacing throttle/shift cable

Another vote for Teleflex X-Treme's.

http://www.teleflexmarine.com/cgi-bi...s&product=1071
__________________
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Just 'cause it's new, doesn't mean it's worth a Damn."
warthog5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 09:45 PM
  #8    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Norfolk, Va
Posts: 311
Default Re: replacing throttle/shift cable

I would be very interested in the cost and the ease (or lack of) in doing it yourself. My Yamaha 250 has become hard to move and is having trouble idleing down after running! Time to replace.

Tim
WEEKEND HONEYMOON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 06:28 AM
  #9    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location:
Posts: 542
Default Re: replacing throttle/shift cable

I had to take my boat into Honda for a recent recall and while there, I decided to let them do it I a recall it was right around 380. 4 cables plus labor.

I have a shop manual for the Hondas and the connections at the engine did not look that difficult, nor did running the cables through my boat to the controls. Just a few correct measurements to adhere to there specs.

I am confident I could have shoped around for a better price on the cables and did it myself, thus saving labor. It was just a case of , Hey, it's too cold to be messing with the boat outside. I also wanted to get a jump on the job before the spring rush of boaters getting repairs.

Heck, I pulled the lower units yesterday and will do the impellers myself this week in the house. Nice and warm job.
sea_slueth is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shift and throttle cable install? MacCTD Shipyard Isl. Marine Engine Parts 2 10-03-2008 09:14 AM
Replacing Morse throttle/shift cables dpdash The Boating Forum 3 07-31-2008 06:34 PM
Replacing Shift cable VP 290 Outdrive kayakndave The Boating Forum 2 06-13-2007 08:22 PM
shift & throttle cable replacement jdbic The Boating Forum 3 03-10-2006 05:59 PM
Throttle and shift cable problems? Bokat The Boating Forum 4 12-03-2005 07:37 PM

 



©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0