The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > The Boating Forum
Search

Notices

Random Quote: A smooth sea never made for a skillfull sailor...lannyard
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-12-2007, 11:34 AM
  #1    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 4,510
Default Remote Control for Boat Lift

I am looking for some suggestion for a remote control kit for my boat lift? I have a regular boat lift with 2 motors.

Thanks.
bellsisland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 11:38 AM
  #2    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Washington,NC
Posts: 1,786
Default Re: Remote Control for Boat Lift

http://www.gemremotes.com/
Tarbaby is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 12-12-2007, 11:54 AM
  #3    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 4,510
Default RE: Remote Control for Boat Lift

Thanks Tar Baby just checked out their web site and called them. I don't know why I didn't do this before. Now the wife has to come out and let me down, but with two small kids, does not work out well.

bellsisland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 12:03 PM
  #4    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Default Re: Remote Control for Boat Lift

Quote:
Tarbaby - 12/12/2007 2:38 PM

http://www.gemremotes.com/
ditto gem...4 years...no problems.....
Glen E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 12:59 PM
  #5    
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 20
Default Re: Remote Control for Boat Lift

the clapper
BayracerL.I. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 01:16 PM
  #6    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brandon, FL + Hudson, FL
Posts: 1,085
Default RE: Remote Control for Boat Lift

Another vote for Gem Remotes. Make sure you go with the auto stop style otherwise you have to hold the button down on the remote, and trust me it is a pain to have to hold down the button and wait for the lift to get down on low tide.
frank1861 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 01:31 PM
  #7    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Default RE: Remote Control for Boat Lift

Quote:
frank1861 - 12/12/2007 4:16 PM

Another vote for Gem Remotes. Make sure you go with the auto stop style otherwise you have to hold the button down on the remote, and trust me it is a pain to have to hold down the button and wait for the lift to get down on low tide.
I respectfully disagree with this....when I'm moving 10,000 lbs of boat and my family/guests are close, I want it on my demand, not on auto...I'll give you an example...last year I had a weld give loose on one of my motors...if it was in auto mode, it would have freewheeled and dropped the boat in a second on one side doing signif damage.....on manual, I was able to stop the lift in a second before the weld comepletely gave way...go manual.....
Glen E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 04:08 PM
  #8    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brandon, FL + Hudson, FL
Posts: 1,085
Default RE: Remote Control for Boat Lift

A weld gave loose . I disagree with you, but it is all really a decision of personal preference. As far as stopping it in an emergency, the new remotes now have a stop button unlike the old ones that you had to hold down both the up and down button to stop the lift in auto mode its much faster to stop the lift.
frank1861 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 04:39 PM
  #9    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Merritt Island, Fl
Posts: 2,227
Default Re: Remote Control for Boat Lift

I've read about problems with lift remotes where the lift went up unattended and smashed t-tops. A properly installed limit switch should take care of that. I'd make sure the remote frequency isn't commonly used by other devices.
__________________
30' Chris Craft Tournament Sportfish for sale

http://www.thehulltruth.com/boats-sa...tfish-15k.html
BigosS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 05:49 PM
  #10    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,062
Default Re: Remote Control for Boat Lift

If you have a Tide Tamer lift, the auto stop only works going down and not up. It is new and I have the switch to install on mine for next year. I wired my own lift and have spent many hours on the phone with Gem while they were developing this new auto stop. It works on a float attached to the lift and set by you to the point that you want it to stop for your boat. On Tide Tamer lifts, the lift cannot fall based upon a design in the motors and the direct drive. Not sure why that would be an issue not to get auto stop. Have never seen a lift break at a weld but I am sure it can happen.

The auto stop is great and easy to wire and if you have problems, GEM will walk you through it most any time you call them.
__________________
REGULATOR 23------------Twin F150 Yamahas
REGULATOR 21------------Yamaha 200 HPDI
PARKER 21 DVCC----------Verado 225
PARKER 18-----------------Suzuki DF140
BAYRIDER 1860------------Yamaha F90
CAROLINA SKIFF 16 CC---Evinrude 35
CAROLINA SKIFF 16-------Merc 20
RIVER OX 16---------------Johnson 30
atlanticbeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 05:53 PM
  #11    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Default Re: Remote Control for Boat Lift

the big problem I see (and my lift company agrees) is "operator error" in that people get lazy and walk in the house while the lift is moving up or down...if you watch it, all these remotes and lift stop switches are fine...it's the jerks who don't watch 10K lbs moving up or down that have problems....I have no problems keeping my finger on the switch, up or down....
Glen E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 06:00 PM
  #12    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Oak Island, N.C.
Posts: 1,864
Default Re: Remote Control for Boat Lift

My Gem Remotes can be used manually or automatically. There is a switchin the box that lets you decide which. They also have a stop button that stops the motors instantly. I must say that I never ever leave the immediate area when using the lifts. Belts have a bad habit of slipping at times and you must be paying attention to keep an accident from happening. I have also had minor problems with one switch not working all the time. When you hit "up" on the remote and only one motor starts, you have to be close at hand and paying attention to stop the lift. I will probably have to replace a switch in the box if the problem resurfaces. So far, working the switch back and forth a few times has always solved the problem. Ihave never had the up and down limit switches fail to work. I would have a much harder time using my boats if it were not for the remotes.
moorhen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 06:07 PM
  #13    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Default Re: Remote Control for Boat Lift

I thnk we have digressed from the remote question - I love my remote and don't know how anyone does without the garage door style remote...it's the only way to get the lift out of the water after you leave (wife won't do it anymore)...It's only the auto up/down I would not install on my lift.........
Glen E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 06:22 PM
  #14    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 4,510
Default RE: Remote Control for Boat Lift

Thanks for the replies. I was seriously thinking about the auto deal. We have 6' of tide swing here, and I am not going to go anywhere when the lift is going up or down. I am out 220' of dock so not going to run into the house. Not too mention if at low tide waiting on the lift to go down and making circles out in the river would be interesting if I had to hold the buttons down.

Gem told me today that there is a button on the remote that stops the automatically moving lift right away.

dj
bellsisland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 06:35 PM
  #15    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North NJ & Barnegat Bay
Posts: 6,053
Default Re: Remote Control for Boat Lift

I sell garage doors and automatic openers for a living. Its the same type of Jackshaft operators, remotes and receivers that open up garage doors just modified to raise your lift and they are marinized like a marine stereo. Garage door opener manufactureres carry the same motors and call them their "car wash operator" My lift has a learn button which means its rolling code and can not be tampered or interferred with. Rolling code means you get a new code every time you press the button and there is over 1 billion codes. My control station on my lift has a manual and an auto mode wich means if i hit the button on the control station if its in manual and i have to have constant pressure on the button and if its on auto mode one depresson will raise or lower the lift all the way only stopping by its limits or by turning the auto mode off midway. My remotes follow suit to the switch on the control station meaning if the control station switch is on auto my remotes is on auto and if the control station switch is on manual then constant pressure on the remote is needed. Its the best of both worlds. If your operators have a receiver that does not have a "Learn" or "smart" button then you have the older technology radio controls where you have dipswitches in your receiver and remote that have to be in the same position. These are the controls that can be tampered (easily) with and open and close due to interferance (rare occurance).
__________________
2006 Skeeter ZX24 Bay
2006 Yamaha 300 HPDI
I love my Yamabomb
2013 Ford F-150 XLT ECO
Team: EAT-SLEEP-FISH---~ <)))))<
Trying hard to become a 1%er
pastaman1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 06:41 PM
  #16    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Oak Island, N.C.
Posts: 1,864
Default Re: Remote Control for Boat Lift

Glen, Doesn't your Gem control box have a switch to disable the automatic function? I installed my remotes several years ago and don't recall having to install anything extra to get the automatic function to work. I have one switch on the lower left and a line of three switches on the right side of the box. The middle switch controlls whether the auto function is off or on. Perhaps you box is different from mine.

I have one Tide Tamer and one Ace lift. Both have both up and down automatic stops. Each is a little different but both limit both directions.
moorhen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 06:46 PM
  #17    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Default Re: Remote Control for Boat Lift

Quote:
moorhen - 12/12/2007 9:41 PM

Glen, Doesn't your Gem control box have a switch to disable the automatic function? I installed my remotes several years ago and don't recall having to install anything extra to get the automatic function to work. I have one switch on the lower left and a line of three switches on the right side of the box. The middle switch controlls whether the auto function is off or on. Perhaps you box is different from mine.

I have one Tide Tamer and one Ace lift. Both have both up and down automatic stops. Each is a little different but both limit both directions.
I have no auto function - no trip switches on the lift for high or low...just up and down....in the box the auto-stop is blanked out with a black plastic plug.....
Glen E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 06:48 PM
  #18    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North NJ & Barnegat Bay
Posts: 6,053
Default Re: Remote Control for Boat Lift

Quote:
moorhen - 12/12/2007 6:41 PM Glen, Doesn't your Gem control box have a switch to disable the automatic function? I installed my remotes several years ago and don't recall having to install anything extra to get the automatic function to work. I have one switch on the lower left and a line of three switches on the right side of the box. The middle switch controlls whether the auto function is off or on. Perhaps you box is different from mine. I have one Tide Tamer and one Ace lift. Both have both up and down automatic stops. Each is a little different but both limit both directions.


All jacksaft operators for a garage doors or your lift have built in limit switches in the motor housings. Its just a threaded rod with a stop switch in either side. The stop switch on either side has a nut that you adjust with a wrench to control the travel.
__________________
2006 Skeeter ZX24 Bay
2006 Yamaha 300 HPDI
I love my Yamabomb
2013 Ford F-150 XLT ECO
Team: EAT-SLEEP-FISH---~ <)))))<
Trying hard to become a 1%er
pastaman1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 06:53 PM
  #19    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North NJ & Barnegat Bay
Posts: 6,053
Default Re: Remote Control for Boat Lift

Quote:
Glen E - 12/12/2007 6:46 PM
Quote:
moorhen - 12/12/2007 9:41 PM Glen, Doesn't your Gem control box have a switch to disable the automatic function? I installed my remotes several years ago and don't recall having to install anything extra to get the automatic function to work. I have one switch on the lower left and a line of three switches on the right side of the box. The middle switch controlls whether the auto function is off or on. Perhaps you box is different from mine. I have one Tide Tamer and one Ace lift. Both have both up and down automatic stops. Each is a little different but both limit both directions.
I have no auto function - no trip switches on the lift for high or low...just up and down....in the box the auto-stop is blanked out with a black plastic plug.....
What do you mean byno trip switch? Do you mean limit switch?
__________________
2006 Skeeter ZX24 Bay
2006 Yamaha 300 HPDI
I love my Yamabomb
2013 Ford F-150 XLT ECO
Team: EAT-SLEEP-FISH---~ <)))))<
Trying hard to become a 1%er
pastaman1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 06:55 PM
  #20    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Default Re: Remote Control for Boat Lift

Quote:
pastaman1234 - 12/12/2007 9:53 PM



Quote:
Glen E - 12/12/2007 6:46 PM
Quote:
moorhen - 12/12/2007 9:41 PM Glen, Doesn't your Gem control box have a switch to disable the automatic function? I installed my remotes several years ago and don't recall having to install anything extra to get the automatic function to work. I have one switch on the lower left and a line of three switches on the right side of the box. The middle switch controlls whether the auto function is off or on. Perhaps you box is different from mine. I have one Tide Tamer and one Ace lift. Both have both up and down automatic stops. Each is a little different but both limit both directions.
I have no auto function - no trip switches on the lift for high or low...just up and down....in the box the auto-stop is blanked out with a black plastic plug.....
What do you mean by*no trip switch? Do you mean limit switch?*
yes
Glen E is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote Control Traxxas Revo and Pro Boat Thunder Cat 31 redneckbaitflinger Fishing & Miscellaneous Items -- COMMERCIAL sellers only 0 11-11-2008 07:22 AM
more remote control problems Maldoror The Boating Forum 8 11-05-2008 11:20 AM
ANYBODY USE THIS RF REMOTE CONTROL? MOCEAN CONTROL The Boating Forum 0 05-01-2008 11:28 AM
Wireless remote control for lift bellsisland The Boating Forum 2 02-21-2008 11:20 AM
remote control thomas44 The Boating Forum 0 05-09-2007 01:10 PM

 



©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0