The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > The Boating Forum
Search

Notices

Random Quote: Better to beg forgiveness, than ask permission
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-05-2007, 01:07 AM
  #1    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: jacksonville
Posts: 306
Default Shoot through hull transducer?

Just bought a new pathfinder and now I need to know what transducer to put on it, Through hull is not a option. Only shoot through and transom mount. Which would u go with and why? Thanks.
simba7171 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 01:09 AM
  #2    
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Deep south
Posts: 97
Default Re: Shoot through hull transducer?

I would never shoot through my hull? Would take on too much water
bigcheese is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 08-05-2007, 03:38 AM
  #3    
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGERPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maui and SoCal
Posts: 7,104
Default RE: Shoot through hull transducer?

Shoot through without question unless it is a stepped hull.
__________________
Kern O.
kerno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 10:13 AM
  #4    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: jacksonville
Posts: 306
Default RE: Shoot through hull transducer?

Whats a stepped hull? If you are talking about a pocket in the very rear of the transom where there is no deadrise this boat has that for about a foot.
simba7171 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 10:27 AM
  #5    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location:
Posts: 5,328
Default Re: Shoot through hull transducer?

Stepped hull has notches cut out of the chine, or the edge of the hull at the waterline, about midway back. Not at the transom.
__________________
"Good results should not encourage bad decisions"

"You can never elevate your own character by stepping on someone else's."

"Never argue with a man who loves the sound of his own voice."
glacierbaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 01:15 PM
  #6    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Cocoa, FL
Posts: 145
Default Re: Shoot through hull transducer?

Hello, I am just curious as to why nobody seems to want a through hull. Do they actually leek that much? I was under the impression that a through hull ducer was the best and, most accurate type!
oceanmaster86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 01:38 PM
  #7    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Merritt Island, Fl
Posts: 2,227
Default Re: Shoot through hull transducer?

If you want to find the bottom in over about 400', I'd stay away from the shoot-thru. Mine did not work well in deep water, and it was prepped right on a solid glass laid up hull (Bertram). Transom mount tranducers work so well on outboard boats, so I'd go that way if you are sure you don't want a thru-hull.
__________________
30' Chris Craft Tournament Sportfish for sale

http://www.thehulltruth.com/boats-sa...tfish-15k.html
BigosS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 07:21 PM
  #8    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SE FL
Posts: 804
Default Re: Shoot through hull transducer?

Quote:
BigosS - 8/5/2007 1:38 PM If you want to find the bottom in over about 400', I'd stay away from the shoot-thru. Mine did not work well in deep water, and it was prepped right on a solid glass laid up hull (Bertram). Transom mount tranducers work so well on outboard boats, so I'd go that way if you are sure you don't want a thru-hull.
Gotta disagree with you there BigosS. This pic is from a shoot through the hull ducer on my outboard powered boat. Not a lot of definition down there but still bangin' away at the bottom in 2600+ feet. Shallower (1000' and less) the definition can't be beat.

__________________
Jim Z
Jim Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 07:22 PM
  #9    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 673
Default Re: Shoot through hull transducer?

My transducer on a new garmin lost signal at 25 knots I adjuted it mant times. Finaly got a p79 and it works perfect at all speeds but I lost the temp and need suggestions now for a water temp guage.
barrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 07:23 PM
  #10    
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,718
Default Re: Shoot through hull transducer?

Jim Z- What model are you using for those kind of depths? -Thanks
__________________
Drifter

Drifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 08:03 PM
  #11    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North East
Posts: 5,750
Default Re: Shoot through hull transducer?

barrell- I have the P79 as well. If your Fish Finder allows for an AUX in temp sensor I suggest you buy one (I bought one from Humminbird for $14 from Cabela's) and drilled a small hole in the stern of my boat for the sensor probe. Now I get water temp...
FireFly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 08:12 PM
  #12    
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SE FL
Posts: 804
Default Re: Shoot through hull transducer?

Quote:
Drifter - 8/5/2007 7:23 PM Jim Z- What model are you using for those kind of depths? -Thanks
That's the Airmar M260
__________________
Jim Z
Jim Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 08:19 PM
  #13    
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,718
Default Re: Shoot through hull transducer?

Quote:
Jim Z - 8/5/2007 8:12 PM



Quote:
Drifter - 8/5/2007 7:23 PM Jim Z- What model are you using for those kind of depths? -Thanks
That's the Airmar M260
Thanks
__________________
Drifter

Drifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 09:56 PM
  #14    
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: nj
Posts: 2,535
Default Re: Shoot through hull transducer?

shoot through is awsome. Mine reads bottom at 40 knots.
tunatango123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 08:32 AM
  #15    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ft Myers Bch, Fl
Posts: 434
Default Re: Shoot through hull transducer?

I would think Bigoss is talking about the little puck style shoot-thru transducers (like the p79) not shooting thru the hull at depths over 400 feet. Because the original poster is on a 20' pathfinder, u think he needs the mack daddy, $800, m260 on that boat? lol. I doubt there is even room to mount that in a 20' PF.
shipahoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 09:01 AM
  #16    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 309
Default Re: Shoot through hull transducer?

I'm running a shoot-thru with my Lowrance, never loses bottom at speed. If you want well defined fish archs, get one that is adjustable. The only gripe with mine is getting 1/2 archs because the angle it is shooting and I can't adjust it.
__________________
Boatless & Searching
erikrs301 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shoot through hull transducer?? melvinhatcher Marine Electronics Forum 2 07-20-2007 04:43 PM
Though Hull or Shoot though hull transducer for CVS 103 liwreckfisherman Marine Electronics Forum 0 06-08-2007 09:58 AM
Skimmer Transducer or Shoot Thru Hull Transducer ?? southwall Marine Electronics Forum 11 08-03-2006 10:10 AM
Shoot thru hull transducer Kyle602 The Boating Forum 7 11-27-2003 07:23 AM

 



©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0